Department of Sport, Arts and Culture: Minister Mthethwa announces adjudication committees for Sport and Culture sectors

18 April 2020

On 17 April 2020, Minister Nathi Mthethwa held meetings with the members of the Adjudication Committees appointed to adjudicate and make recommendations on the applications received from sport federations and artists for relief funding, as well as online project funding.

Both the Sport Adjudication Committee (AC) and the Arts and Culture Adjudication Committee are made up of independent external panellists appointed by the Minister. The panellists of the sport AC elected Ms Keitumetse Lebaka as the Chairperson of the committee and the elected Chairperson of the arts and culture AC is Ms Michelle Constant.  

The Sport Adjudication Committee is made up of six external panellists:

Ms Keitumetse Lebaka - AC Chairperson, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Culture, Arts Tourism, Sports Sector Education and Training Authority (CATHSSETA).

Mr Leon Fleisher, Acting General Manager: High Performance SASCOC.

Mr Allan Williams , Chief Executive Officer of the Sport for Social Change Network (SSCN) Southern Africa.

Simanga Matholeni, senior projects and stakeholder manager at the Sports Trust .

Dr Linda Ncube-Nkomo, Chief Executive Officer of the LoveLife Trust.

Mr Marupini Ramatsekisa, project manager for Grant funding at the National Lotteries Commission.

The arts and culture Adjudication Committee (AC) is made up of 15 external panellists:

Michelle Constant – AC Chairperson, former CEO of BASA and currently consultant.

Motsumi Makhene, arts educationist, trainer, arts and culture policy strategist.

Charles Leonard, seasoned Journalist, editor, broadcaster and music collector.

Monna Mokoena, founder of Momo Art Gallery, independent art dealer.

Roshnie Moonsamm, cultural producer and curator of diverse projects and festivals.

Rose Francis, CEO and founder of African Perspective Publishers, Author and contemporary romance writer.

Nothemba Madumo, Seasonal television and jazz music presenter, anchor and producer.

Zola Maseko, Special Jury award winner, film director and screenwriter.

Richard Nwamba, award winning playwright, musician, actor & broadcaster.

Vusi Leeuw, music business expert.

Ashraf Johaardien, multi award winning playwright, actor and producer.

Mohlanganisi Masoga, Deputy Director from Department of Small Business Development (Performing Arts, Music and Dance).

Zandile Mzazi, internationally acclaimed soprano, opera soloist.

Marah Louw, iconic South African music star and actress.

Joy Mbewana, President of Cultural and Creative Industries Federation South Africa (CCIFSA).

Minister Mthethwa said, “The department is fortunate to have such iconic performers and highly experienced industry experts on both adjudication panels. We would like to thank each and every one of them for having accepted our invitation to serve on the Adjudication Committees, and look forward to receiving their recommendations.”


Media Enquiries:

Masechaba Khumalo: Spokesperson (Minister),

Tel: 066 380 7408 | Email:

Mr Mickey Modisane: Chief Director Marketing and Communications (Sport),

Tel: 082 992 0101 | Email:

Ms Zimasa Velaphi: Marketing and Communications (Arts and Culture),

Tel: 072 172 8925 | Email: