Invitation to the National School Sport Championships Summer Games 2019

4 December 2019

On the 28 March 2012, the then Minister of Sport and Recreation and the Minister of Basic Education jointly kicked off the National School Sport League Programme at the Vlakfontein Grounds in Mamelodi. The presence of both Ministers at the Kick - off event inspired a sense of hope within the school sport sector that the two departments would finally bring stability to a sector that was resistant to transformation.
To streamline sport development in the country and to enable schools to focus on increasing sports participation, SRSA identified 16 codes of sport as priority for school sport viz: athletics, basketball, boxing, cricket, chess, football, gymnastics, hockey, netball, rugby, swimming, softball, volleyball, tennis, table tennis, goal ball and indigenous games. Both Ministers entered into an agreement endorsing that schools were the incubators for sport development and talent identification. Also that schools are natural stimulates of the rollout of a school sport league programme where children will be provided with access to participate in an organized sport programme that was a product born out of the institutional and legislative frameworks as endorsed at the 2011 Sports Indaba. It was further agreed that the success and maximum participation of schools was dependent on the initiative and support from the school management, educators and the School Governing Bodies.
To facilitate the implementation of the school sport league programme there had to be a harmonious collaboration amongst all the role players responsible for sport in schools and those key role players were the following: National and Provincial SRSA, DBE, SASCOC, National Federations and School Sport Code Committees. Operational structures were then established in March 2012 at National and Provincial levels with the objective of coordinate the roll out of the schools’ sport program.
The primary aim of the school sport programme is to ensure that each and every one of South Africa’s 12 428 069 learners in over 25 000 schools, primary and high schools, are afforded an opportunity to participate in at least one sporting code. The programme therefore seeks to address all the barriers to entry that currently inhibit broad based participation in school sport through the provision of the requisite support material, personnel and competition opportunities.
SA Schools National Championships have been hosted since December 2012 and therefore enabling more than 6 000 schools annual sport participation however, there is still work to be done for the programme to reach all the 25 000 schools.
As a result of these numbers, a format of the championships was changed in 2016 to divide it in three seasons, Autumn, Winter and Summer Championships and to date, the programme has been able to touch more than +/- 6 000 schools and offer sporting opportunities to +/- 120 000 learners annually at district level.

Based on the statistics of the past winter championships more than 3330 learners from all provinces participated in the championships with the summer games scheduled to attract more learners. During this upcoming summer championships learners are scheduled to compete in eight sporting codes (i.e.) Basketball, Cricket, Goalball, Gymnastics, Rugby, Softball, Table Tennis and Swimming. Most codes are to play within the University of Pretoria sporting grounds with limited accommodation as well provided by the institution, venues are therefore outlined as follows:
Basketball    : Heartfelt Arena
Wheelchair Basketball: Pretoria West Indoor Hall (Matzaan Street)
Cricket    : Groenkloof Oval (78 George Storrar drive), Harlequin (56 Totius   Street Groenkloof, Pretoria West Cricket Club, TUT
Goalball    : University of Pretoria Hall 3 (South Street Hatfield)
Gymnastics    : Matsport Centre Centurion (18 Edwards Rd, Eldoraigne)
Rugby    : University of Pretoria (South Street Hatfield)
Softball    : Rietondale ( 87 Van Der Merwe)
Swimming    : Hillcrest Pool (Cnr. Jan Shoba (Duncan) road and Duxbury street)  
Table Tennis: University of Pretoria, Mamelodi Campus (9552 Nku CL, Mamelodi)

Games at all venues are scheduled to commence daily at: 8h00 am (note that the entrance at all venues if free however, right of admission is strictly reserved).
Members of the Media are therefore invited to the SA School Sport National Championships summer games scheduled to commence on 08th – 12th December 2019. The games will officially open with competitions commencing at the above - mentioned venues however, the closing ceremony will take place on the 12th December with details as follows:  

Date:    12 Dec 2019
Time:   18h30

For confirmation of attendance, Members of the media are requested to send their details to Zikhanyile Sitali not later than the 06 December 2019 or contact her on 012 304 5160 / 060 965 1462 / email to:

…………………………………………. ends…………………………………………
For Inquiries / clarity members of the media can contact:

Mr Mickey Modisane on 082 992 0101                                                                                                                                                                                                       
Chief Director Marketing and Communication  
 Department of Sport and Recreation SA