Merger of Sport and Recreation SA with Department of Arts and Culture

30 May 2019

The President Cyril Matamela Ramaphosa in his 6th Administration cabinet announcement yesterday stated the following "To promote coherence, better coordination and improved efficiency, we have combined a number of portfolios, thereby reducing the number of Ministers from 36 to 28"

Of the departments that have been merged by the 6th administration it also include our department of Sport and Recreation which will be merged with Department of Arts and Culture. The Combined Department will therefore be announced as Department of Sports, Arts and Culture and will be headed by Minister Nathi Mthethwa and the Deputy Minister Nocawe Mafu.

The Department welcomes the announcements made by President Cyril Ramaphosa and also welcomes its new Ministers.

See full President Cyril Ramaphosa  cabinet announcement below:

President Cyril Ramaphosa - Cabinet Announcement.docx